The Food and Liqour

From a Chicken Lover

Popeyes Chicken

I have always been curious of American brands especially food brands that make it to South Africa, so I was one of the people who were exceptionally excited when I found out that a Popeyes Chicken was opening up at Sandton City, but sadly all the chances I had to go to mall ended up with me not getting to sample the famous Louisiana chicken because the lines were so damn long, that gave me the impression that this might be some amazing chicken, man I was wrong, since there was no way i was ever going to stand in those lines, I had accepted that I would try it in a few months, so when I found out that one opened up at Eastgate mall and the line was shorter i jumped at the chance, Its Popeyes right America says its amazing…I too am supposed to think its amazing right? wrong.

So I ordered 4 wings/lets ( cost almost 30 bucks ) – which I felt wasn’t fair considering the size of the wings themselves as well as the flavour which was kind of basic- something they call a sandwich (which looked to me like a burger made of chicken breast) and some spicy chicken tenders with a chili mayo dip, one of my main mistakes was me assuming that the sandwich was a burger made with a whole chicken breast ( should have probably asked), turns out the sandwich is made up of 2 chicken tenders made to look like a burger, so in the end I had extra chicken tenders that just happened to be in a bun with some mayo lettuce and tomato, the highlight of my meal was definitely the tenders on their own and the chili mayo, they were very good, but certainly not worth the long lines

 

Leave a Reply

